Knocking on the Door

Tuesday, March 01, 2005
  A Pastor has a appointment to meet with one of his board members at his home.  As he approached the house he sees the car in the driveway and lights in the house on.  As well as that the appointment had been made in advance, so the pastor was certain that the board member was home.  He knocked on the door, and recieved no answer.  After a minute or two, he knocked again.  Frustrated, he pounded once again on the door, but to no avail.  Thinking about all of the work he had left to do in his office, and his wife waiting at home for him, he decided to leave-but not without a note.  The pastor took one of his business cards and wrote on the back: “Rev 3:20 ‘Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.’ See you on sunday.”When the pastor took up the offering on Sunday morning, he was suprised to see his board member’s card in the offering.  He fliped it over to find another scripture reference: “Gen 3:10 ‘I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.’ Lets reschedule.”
Leave a Reply

