Pet Peeve

Friday, October 28, 2005 

My Pet Peeve
Current mood:  aggravated

Stupidity.  I hate it when people display their own stupidity.  What I mean by this is really their lack of maturity.  Sonny Alison sent an email (which you can read at the bottom) to the Bethany Community, asking for help and he offered a very small reward.  Though we were all probably thinking the same thing, one student (who will remain anonymous) had the audacity to voice our thoughts (also posted at the bottom).  It was horribly rude.  If this person really wanted to be funny and poke fun of the situation, it could have been done in simply 1 or 2 sentences rather than going on and on about it.  Granted, I wanted to say something also, but not only did I refrain, but if I had, it would not have been so asinine. 

The reason I bring this up, is because I am tired of reading these kinds of emails.  I am trying to be a good student and at least reading all of the emails that come my way (even though I REALLY don’t like to), so that I can be in the know of what is going on around me.  But this kind of crap makes me really not want to.  Furthermore, its really disrespectful.  Jesus showed respect even to the Pharisees and Sadducees in his day.  Should we not show respect to those in our community who are serving us.  What would the Bethany Campus be with out the IT department?  I know that I am not the biggest fan, but without them, we would no multimedia in our classrooms, internet in our dorm rooms, etc. 

Lets make a decision to be respectful to those around us, even when they may say something that seems odd…

Anyhow, here are the two emails:

Ladies and Gentlemen

 

I require your assistance.  IT Servicest has a DVD (Jack in the Bean Stalk) and a video tape that we use to check out the machines in the class rooms.  I used them yesterday and have misplaced them.  I am offering a 50 cent reward to the person who locates them and returns them to IT Services.

 

Thank you.

 

Sonny Allison

IT Services

And the reply that went out the whole campus:

Don’t worry Sonny…I wont tell Kevin Lew…In fact, I will dedicate my weekend to finding that tape…I need the fifty cents in the worst way. Wow, just imagine what I could do with all of that money…I certainly will make a healthy decision with it at the local quick stop…perhaps one stick of gum, or a bite of the candy bar that the head employee eats.  Thanks for making such a big reward sonny, and I will certainly do everything I can to find that mischevious video.

Leave a Reply

