Summer Is Over

Sunday, September 03, 2006
  Summer’s OverWell, I reallize that it has been forever since my last blog.  My most sincere appologies!  First of all, I do not have internet at home yet… and to honest, I have not had time/motivation to blog. 

Lots has been going on since my last blog.  First of all, married life is awesome!!!  Roberta is such a blessing in my life!!!  I never thought that things could be better than they were when we were engaged.  Boy was I wrong. 

My job is also awesome!  I had the privilage of directing our Day Camp this year.  We had 100+ Kids at the elementry school day camp, and 29 at the Pre-school.  I also co-directed the overnight camp where we had 101 kids!  What a great summer on that side of things.  Perhaps I will share a quick story about camp:  The mantra for camp counsilors is “anything for the kids.”  (thanks Pam Fay)  We had one counsilor who took this a little too far, and ended up in the hospital as a result.

One child who had particular difficulties in the area of obeying decided he did not want to go to chapel, and ran off.  I heard about this and went out to find him.  I say his counsilor in the middle of the field bent over in pain.  Being slightly confused, I asked what was going on.  He pointed and said, “he ran off that way, I got stung by bees, be careful.”  I told him to check out with the nurse and I will take care of the child.  I caught up to the child, and found him crying.  I asked him, what was up.  He answered, “I am a bad kid, I made my counsilor get stung by bees.” 

I assured him that it was an accident, and he was not a bad kid.  I coaxed him to go with me to the nurse to get checked out and meet up with his counsilor.  As we got there, I was going to subtly let him know about our coversation so that he would be aware of it.  However, I we entered the nurse’ station, the first thing the counsilor said to his kid was “I am so proud of you!  You saw the bees and took off running.  That is exactly what you should have done, and you got away ok.  Great Job!!!”

That was exactly what that camper needed to hear.  Any how, how about a joke also to finish this one:

Little Nancy is in the garden filling in a hole when her neighbor peers over the fence. Interested in what the cheeky-faced youngster is doing, he politely asks, “What are you up to there, Nancy?”

“My goldfish died,” replies Nancy tearfully, without looking up. “And I’ve just buried him.”

The neighbor is concerned. “That’s an awfully big hole for a goldfish, isn’t it?” Nancy pats down the last heap of earth, then replies, “That’s because he’s inside your cat.”

Leave a Reply

