Police

Tuesday, January 30, 2007 

Police

For a long time now, I have had some distain for police.  It is not that I have had some bad experience, rather simply the lack of a good one. 

Today, I was reminded why I have such a distain for police.  I was out driving (actually stopped at a stop light) and saw a police car with its lights on, navigating around traffic, causing everyone to stop and let him go.  “So,” I thought to myself, “he has to go save the good guys or stop the bad guys or some thing like that.” 

But such was not the case.  After he sped through the intersection, taking his life and everyone around him’s life into his hands, he turned his lights off, and drove casually along his way. 

So, he was in a hurry.  So, he put his lights on.  Big deal… Well, have you ever heard about the girl who cried wolf?  Well, I decided at that moment in time that I no longer feel like I should give a cop with his lights on right of way.  I seriously do not want to any more (of course that is the bold me who says anything to any body after they have walked away).  What if everyone began to to notice this pattern, and consequently decided they no longer wanted to yeild the right of way (and rightly so…). 

Do you see where I am going with this?  Police are supposed to be people who uphold, obey, and really show what the law is.  But they don’t.  They are the Pharasees of today; the definition of hypocracy.  I wish that this was the only time that I have seen Cops do that, but it was not.  In fact, I have seen more police break more laws, do more dangerous things than most “Civilian” drivers.  And they are immune to the law, or at least it seems so.  Would you turn in your co-worker if you caught them doing something they should not have been doing?  They obviously don’t…

So, I pose the question, is there anything that can be done about it?  Or am I completly nuts and Police are great people who do generally obey the law?  I would really like to believe the second, if you can convince me, however I doubt you can…

Any thoughts would be great!!!

Brad Shim

Leave a Reply

