Christmas Time

Tuesday, December 04, 2007 

Christmas Time
Category: Blogging

I have made it no secret that Christmas is not my favorite time of the year.  Don’t get me wrong, I love having one extra day off in the midst of 13 performances of the Church drama, shopping for Christmas gifts with money that I do not have and most of all the music.  Oh how I love the music . 

The music is what I loath the most.  Many people have asked me why it is that I hate the music.  So, I have compiled a list of the reasons why I mega-loath Christmas music:

On the 12th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

Fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la (not sure if I have one to many here…)…

Pa-rumpa-pum-pum

We wish you a merry Christmas, we wish you a merry Christmas…

Jingle bells, Jingle bells, jingle all the way…

Not to mention the songs of mythical creatures that have no bearing on the real meaning of Christmas…

Or all of the songs that are supposed to be about Jesus that are so obviously wrong.  For example:

We three kings… We do not know how many of them there were.  We assume three because three gifts were given.  But they were not kings, they were magicians, astrologers, star gazers.

How about my personal favorite this year:  Mary did you know?  As if Mary did not know.  She had a child with out the usual sex, had an angel visit her and her fiancé/husband and explain the whole deal to her, but we still have to question, “Mary, did you know?”

Silent Night?  Are you for real??? Lets consider this one for a minute…A lady giving birth without drugs.  I recent had a friend of mine (who is a father) tell me that his wife was not quiet in giving birth with drugs.  Throw into that the fact that she was giving birth in a barn.  Silent night…yeah right.

Despite these songs that I do not care much for, I do have to give a shout out for some of my favorite.  I love “Carol of the Bells” particularly the way that Tran Siberian Orchestra does it.  Its called Christmas Eve Sarajevo.  Or “Oh Holy Night” is a great one.  I also enjoy “Oh Come Let Us Adore Him” very much.

Despite my grinch like attitude about Christmas, I do enjoy the finer parts of the season: spending time with family, people striving to get along, and this overwhelming idea of peace on earth.  We have put up our Christmas tree, and I love how happy it makes Ro.

Even though this blog is laden with sarcasm and cynicism, I do hope that you and yours have a great Holiday Season.  Whether you celebrate Christmas, Kwanza, Hanukah, or something else entirely, I hope that it is a good one. 

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!!!

Brad

Leave a Reply

