Something New

Last night I tried something new: I made quiche. I love to cook, mostly because I love to eat, and eating out has become too expensive and unhealthy. Making the quiche was a strategic move on several levels. First of all, Roberta and I noticed that we were in a food rut, you know where you eat the same things, and it is starting to get old. Secondly, it expanded my cooking horizons. Third, it expanded my eating horizons. Quiche is not normally something I eat, make or have much to do with all, except when a lack of options leave the choice to eating quiche or starve. Long story short, it turned out pretty good. I liked it, and would probably do it again, if for no other reason than simply to perfect the art of making quiche.

As I reflect back on my experience, I can’t help but to think about the importance of trying new things-especially in our spiritual journey. For a long time, I had been caught in a spiritual rut where I would take a few minutes at the beginning of the day to read a chapter of scripture, and then proceed pray throughout the day, over the tasks I was doing, people I would think about, or whatever would pop into my mind. Needless to say, this was not an effective way to pray. I picked up a book on prayer and began to some things that the author had suggested: keep a prayer journal, write prayers out word for word, take intentional time to pray everyday over specific things, use different prayer models found in scripture such as the Lord’s Prayer and take time to listen to God.

Are you in a spiritual rut? Try something different. Maybe find a new place to pray. If you usually pray inside, try praying outside. If you usually pray at night, try the morning. If you normally pray quietly in your head, try praying out loud. Start a prayer journal. Read sections of the Bible that are not normally your “go to” scriptures. Be creative-with in reason, don’t start praying to false gods and doing stuff like that. If you do the same thing you have always done, you will always get the same results that you have always gotten.

Leave a Reply

