Life Long Learners

One of the most important things to do as a human being is to be a student. You might not be a formal student where you sit in class, write papers, and take exams, but you can always be a student. I remember in high school a friend of my saying that they on considered themselves to be conversational in English (they were American born and raised, as were their parents), rather than fluent. They said that until they learn every word, and every meaning of every word, there is still more to learn about the English language, thus not yet fluent. Though that might not be technically correct, the heart behind it speaks volumes of truth.

I have dedicated myself to a lifestyle of learning. I try to make every experience I have a learning one. For example, about 6 months ago, I went to Disney Land for the strict purpose of having fun. Learning is fun for me, so I thought I might try to learn something about business while I was there, (after all, what a better place to learn about business than one of the most influential and successful businesses in the world), and I did but that is another story for another day.

What is it that you need to or want to learn more about? How about spirituality, business, parenting, a hobby, or the meaning of life? Once you have identified something you are interested in learning more about, identify place where that learning can happen. Maybe visiting a successful business, going to the library to find books on the subject, perhaps someone who knows a bit more about the subject than you do, attending a conference or learn by doing.

The more you learn, the more you realize how much you do not know. Those who think they are the most knowledgeable, are often the most ignorant.

Leave a Reply

