What I Learned from: Apple

I jokingly say from time to time that the Apple has 2 goals. The first goal is to all to make everyone dependant on their devices and technology. If you are an iPhone user, you know what I mean. You have to be constantly checking on your facebook, twitter, email, myspace, and of course phone calls. When amongst other iPhone users it is perfectly acceptable to check on the status of any of these things while in the midst of conversation. This rule does not extend to non-iPhone users. Roberta and I recently had dinner with some friends who are non-iPhone users, and it was painful for us to not check twitter every 15 minutes. The Psychology professionals are now considering a diagnose of something called iPad, or iPhone Addictive Disorder. Symptoms include (when separated from your phone): anxiety, nervousness, clamminess, and a short temper.

The other goal of Apple is to completely eliminate curiosity. Anytime you are sitting around wondering about anything, the adage is true, “there is an app for that.” If you are wondering the score of the game currently playing or played 3 weeks ago, where you parked your car, or where to eat, and if it’s a good place to eat, there is an app for that. If you cannot find the app for that, there is the safari web browser where you can do a good old fashion google search (yes, I did just say old fashion google search), that is if you don’t want to use the google app.

Now in the midst of this, it is easy to loose sight of that which we should be addicted to Jesus. I will admit that I am fairly certain that I have iPad. I once forgot my phone at home (it was so painful, I have not done it again since), it was the least productive day ever, as I had to keep opening my browsers to keep up with twitter, facebook and my email. I can also admit that though I can not go more than a few minutes without touching my phone, I do occasionally go a whole day without reading scripture. How backwards is that?

According to various studies done, the average Christian spends about 7 minutes a day in Bible study and prayer. How much time does the average Christian spend on their phone? How about social networking?

Now to address the other goal of Apple, eliminate curiosity. When I think about God, there are a lot of questions that there seems to be no answer to. Given enough time, and curiosity in this society where curiosity is easily quenched it can be easy to simply give up and deny his existence, given the lack of answers. It can be frustrating to not have answers, but I also find beauty in the wonder of an almighty God. I don’t understand every aspect of God, or His creation I take comfort in knowing that He is not curious about anything. He is all knowing.

Embrace the mystery that is our God.

Leave a Reply

