Left Behind?

Have your kids ever been lost in a store? I sure have. When I was little, I did not pay attention to my parents too well when they were shopping. My brother and I would hide in the clothes racks, play our own games, and whatever, but we did not pay attention too well to our parents.

One time, while shopping, I was probably playing a game in the electronic section of Fred Meyers or something like that. You know the little half tall aisles where they display music, that’s where we were. I went around the corner one of these little half aisle things, and then realized that I did not know where my mom was. I screamed, cried, and basically panicked-in every form of the word. What I did not know was that my mom was standing there, in the next half aisle thing, watching me the whole time.

Jesus was once separated from his parents as a youngster too. We read about the story in Luke 2:41-52. Joseph and Mary went up to Jerusalem for the feast of the Passover. In those days, they would make these kinds of journeys in caravan for protection. The caravan took off, accidently leaving Jesus behind. After a day’s journey, Mary and Joseph got to talking and realized they had not seen Jesus. They searched among the caravan, and it turns out that no one has seen him.

Joseph and Mary head back to Jerusalem and find Jesus in the Temple. He had been there the whole time talking with the priests-discussing all manners of things spiritual. Jesus, unlike me (probably because he was about 12 years old, and I was 4) did not freak out, he simply asked his Parents, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I would be in my father’s house?”

In the hustle and bustle of life-especially in the Christmas season, it is easy to “leave Jesus behind.” Be sure to make some time to be with Jesus. Yes, I did just say make, not take. You see, if you intentionally set time aside to be with Jesus, you are more likely to do it, than if you try to squeeze it in between shopping, cooking, family time, and everything else going on.

Remember who it is that we are celebrating this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

