Forgetfulness

This morning, I forgot my jacket.  It happens sometimes, and I notice it every time because I have an unnatural attachment to my jacket.  I was once accused of having some great insecurities to where I have to always wear my jacket.  Truthfully, my office is really cold.  I have huge windows, which you would think would be good, but it is not for many reasons… Wearing my jacket, all day long accomplishes the purpose of the jacket-to keep me warm.  Plus, I really like to wear jackets.

I also have  a really cool routine I go through about once a week.  I get all ready to go to work, put all my gear on to ride the motorcycle, say goodbye to the dog (yes, I have an unnatural attachment to the dog as well), leave the apartment lock the door and take 3 steps where I realize I forgot my helmet.  Then I have to go back inside, get the helmet explain to the dog that I am not back to stay, but will come back (I am a bit crazy), and leave again.

I tell you all this to illustrate the point that I forget things-and you probably do too.  What, you don’t think you forget things?  What did your pastor talk about last week in church?  Confession: I am a pastor, and I can not remember week to week what I teach without looking at my past notes. 

I’ve heard that often times the reason our memory fails is information overload.  Think about it.  How many messages do you receive on your commute to work?  Think about radio commercials, billboards, driving instructions (traffic lights & street signs), the person talking to you on the phone, and the list goes on.  All this just in the car on the way to work!  How many messages do you receive while watching tv, not just the commercials, mind you.  Many tv shows have messages they are trying to across to you as well.  It’s no wonder you can not remember what your pastor talked about last weekend.  My pastor told us in our staff meeting a couple of months ago that he was talking to his neighbor at 4:00 on a Sunday afternoon, and his neighbor had already forgotten what pastor had talked about only 4 hours ago… Talk about information overload. 

I have a theory: people will always make room for what is important.  When someone says: “I don’t have money for that,” what they are really saying is, “I am not going to choose to spend my money on that.”  If your family was kidnapped and you had to come up with $10,000 for ransom, you would get $10,000.  Or, “I don’t have time for that,” really means, “I don’t want to.”  While you may not have time for something, you certainly have hours to waste  on your favorite tv shows.  Having said that, the same is true for our brain space.  You may not be able to remember what pastor talked about in church, but do you remember who won the super bowl two and a half weeks ago?  Where were you when you heard about the terrorist attacks almost 9 years ago?   

Now tell me, what is more important?  Things of this world or things of our soul and spirit?  I can tell you what Jesus says, “What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul?” (Matthew 16:26).  What good is it for you to name every player of your favorite team and all their stats, when what really matters is your heart, and your relationship with God.  Your relationship God grows dramatically when you hear what He has to say to you, remember it and apply it to your life.  It is really difficult to apply God’s word to your life if you have a hard time remembering what His word says.

One thought on “Forgetfulness

Leave a Reply

