St. Patrick’s Day

Matthew 5:44: (Jesus Words); “But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.”

Statistically, you are more likely to wear green today than any other day of the year.  I see a sea of green all around me today, no I am not talking about the “green” movement, I am talking about the literal color of green.  In case you missed it, today is St. Patrick’s day. I missed it.  I had no idea it was until I left my office to go into the chapel service, and noticed an incredible amount of green hair ties, stickers and buttons.

I am not sure if you are familiar with St. Patrick, but I thought I would teach a little history today.  St. Patrick was not Irish at all. St. Patrick was British by birth. He was captured by Irish invaders in England and taken as a slave to Ireland where he spent 6 years in slavery, mostly herding animals. He was eventually able to escape his master and make it back home.

Upon his return home, he studied formally in the profession of his father and grandfather-ministry. St. Patrick felt a burden for the people of Ireland, and eventually returned there to tell the Irish people about Jesus, and he was very effective.  He spread the gospel of Jesus through Ireland as few have before his time. That is why we celebrate his life, he embraced Matthew 5:44.

In my life time, I believe that I have made few enemies, but there are certainly people who have upset me, most likely because of something they have done.  To be honest it is very difficult to have any love or compassion for these people. In fact if I could be even more honest, I might say that I have no love or compassion for them (this is a really short list if makes you feel any better, and I am working on getting over it), but none of them have done something so bad as what happened to St. Patrick. I have not been captured and taken from my family to be a slave for 6 years.

Patrick had such an awesome relationship with God, that he felt he had to go to the people who had the worst thing in his whole life to him and give them the best gift he could-the gift of eternal life through Jesus.  Wow! I don’t know how you feel about this, but I am floored. I wish I had this kind of love, passion and relationship with Jesus!

I wanted to share this video with you, Penn (of Penn & Teller) makes a great point in this video that I think every Christian should see. Thanks for reading, I hope this video challenges you to be more like St. Patrick.

<CODE></CODE>

Leave a Reply

