Lost Dog

Matthew 18: 10-14 “See that you do not look down on one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven. “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off ? And if he finds it, I tell you the truth, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should be lost.”

I had an exciting weekend. On Thursday evening, Roberta and I went down to Jacksonville, Oregon (near Medford) to relax and hang out with some friends. First thing Thursday morning, Roberta took Zorah our beloved dog to our friends house for safe keeping. After we went about our day, and began driving toward Jacksonville, I get a call from my friend, who was frantic, saying, “Brad, I don’t know how to tell you this, but Zorah is gone. I took her outside, and another dog came around the corner, she took off, and we can’t find her.”

We were devastated. Zorah has been a part of our family since before we Roberta and I were married. My parents bought Zorah from a breeder in Texas, and picked her up after visiting us in college. It so happened that my dad was as sick as one could be by the time he left us, and went to pick her up. When they got home, they went from the airport to the hospital where dad was for a week or so. Since it was spring break, Roberta and I had come home as well, on a different flight. So we took care of Zorah in their absence.

As time went on Zorah did not really fit in well with the other dogs at my parents house, so we took her in when we bought our house. She has been a delight to have, always greeting us as we come home, demanding to sleep on the bed with us, and cuddling when we are not feeling well. She has been with us through hard times and good. She has been a comfort through our 3 miscarriages, and a great pet. Though there are some things about her that drive us nuts, like her pooping inside and decisions to spread toilet paper all over the house, we are very glad to have her.

To be honest, we were tempted to abandon our weekend away and go back home to look for Zorah, however we resisted and enjoyed the weekend as best as we could. But when we got home, it was go time. We gave ourselves just enough time to unload the car, and take a quick breather before we started looking for her. Immediately after church on Sunday, We began searching again, until we could search no longer, then we ate lunch, took a little rest, and searched again, until we had to return to church. After church it was too dark to look for a black dog so we hung some signs and called it a day. The next morning, I woke up, took care of couple things around the house, then went searching again until I received a phone call from the vet saying they had found my dog.

My desire to find her was intense. Nothing else mattered to me, except finding our crazy, little dog. Reflection of my experience reminded me of the scripture at the top of the page. The shepherd will do everything He possibly can to find a lost sheep. He’ll leave the other sheep, search night and day until He finds the stray sheep. The single sheep is so important to him that when one goes gone, he’ll search night and day stopping at nothing until that sheep is found. How important is that one sheep, really? One sheep is just a number; especially since shepherds would often watch, as this scripture implies hundreds of sheep.

What a picture of God! He could look at any one person and say, “It is just one person, how much does one person matter?” Yet, He will do anything He can to get that one person back! I am amazed by the thought of Jesus on cross. By the way, that in and of its self is horrific enough, but think about this: He loves you-yes you (& me) so much that he would have done it even if no one else accepted Him.

God’s love for us is bigger than I can imagine much less put into words…

Leave a Reply

