Face to Face

If you are reading this blog, the odds are that you are somewhat of a tech person.  Most likely, you have a Facebook account that you probably check at least once a day, perhaps a twitter and maybe a linked-in profile.  You also have an email account (after all, who doesn’t), cell phone that you text from (again, who doesn’t) and you get the news from your computer either through a webpage or email.

It has been kind of fun for me to watch over the last few years as we as a society have moved from being people who actually talk face to face or over the phone, to more technology based communication.  Twitter has taken it to the next level and encouraged us to get as much info into as little space as possible.  Every time I think about this, I am reminded of Wall.E the Pixar movie.  Earth has been overrun by garbage and consequently everyone is forced to live on a space ship until the robots can clean up earth. 

On this ship everyone’s world begins and ends with these mobile chairs that they eat, sleep, drink and live on.  If they ever want to talk with someone, all they do is bring their screen up, and start their conversation.  At one point you see a split screen of two people talking to each other on their screens, and then they are coincidentally sitting next to each other on the way to their two separate destinations.  They continue talking through their screen unaware of their physical presence.

We are not yet that far along, but it is not uncommon for my wife and I to text to each other in our 1,000 square foot apartment, or comment on twitter while sitting on the same couch, and I know that we are not the only ones who do this. 

I make it a point at work to get up and talk face to face with anyone who is the building.  I would do it with more with other people in the church if I did not have a motorcycle as my primary transportation (combined with my inability to navigate my way anywhere).  In fact, I only use email in the building when things needs documentation, and I never use the phone in the building (primarily because I think that office phones are a very archaic system). 

I wonder what this does for our relationship with God.  I think about how different people in the Bible relate with God.  Moses actually got to see God, and it was not because he cleverly figured out how to get God’s attention in less than 140 characters.  David sought after God through writing songs, and prolonged prayer time.  Peter walked with Jesus, and also saw visions that God gave him.  Jesus withdrew from the crowds to quiet and secluded places.

I’m not sure, but I wonder how if we are approaching God without the same level of intensity, or fervor as they did then because we are not used to having face to face contact with people.  I wonder if all of our technology advances are actually hindering our relationship with God.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

