Why Day Camp?

I think that God has gifted me with selective memory… Each year at Day Camp, as the days go by, I ask myself “why do I do this?  The mental and physical toll is exhausting.”  But when it comes time to start planning day camp, I get excited and look forward to it completely forgetting the toll it takes on me.

There are a few reasons that I do day camp: First and foremost is the fun factor.  In Zachariah 8:5, God is talking about the blessings of Jerusalem to come, and he says, “The city streets will be filled with boys and girls playing there.”  God love to see his children having fun!  I aim for the kids to have a good time, and learn more about Him, His creation, and how he designed us to be.

Secondly, Day Camp has proved to be a great discipleship time.  On Sundays, the group is so large, and to be honest, the most committed children are coming 2-3 times a month on average.  That makes it difficult to disciple kids.  However with day camp, when parents pay for their children to attend, they show up!  This is 5 days of great discipleship that kids will receive.

Third, I get to know and hang out with kids on a different level.  I learned this year at day camp, that the kids that talk a lot and have a difficult time paying attention on Sunday are really fun to hang out and relax with!

Fourth, this is a great time for me to get to know some awesome teenagers!  Teenagers who like to/want to serve are amazing people!  This week, I got to know some amazing servants who love kids in a powerful way.  I am proud to associate myself with them and I know that they are going to do great things with their lives!

If your kids missed out on Day Camp this year… I’m sorry, and I hope that they will get a chance to participate in the future!  If they did participate, thanks for having them come, I’m having such a great time!

Leave a Reply

