Give Up?

It has been a long journey.  If you are not familiar with our story, Roberta and I have spent a lot of time in pain, waiting, and hoping.  To make some long stories short, we have had 3 miscarriages.  The doctors we talk with say they don’t know why miscarriages happen, and I believe them because if they knew what causes them, they would be guiding us to avoid certain things or behaviors. 

Anyhow, after our second miscarriage, we were about to give up trying, and either adopt or simply not have children.  After the third, we were about to give up on ministry.  There are few things that I know for certain, but one of them is that God is always in control and His timing is perfect.  I have no idea why God would say that the timing is not right for the first 3 babies, but somehow it was not.

At the darkest part, when I was ready to give up on everything, Roberta approached me and asked if we would not try to wait before trying to have a baby again as we had the last two times, but to try again right away.  I’m not sure why, but I agreed to this.  It’s a good thing too, because it turns out that Roberta was already pregnant again!  That was about 10 weeks ago that we found out about this pregnancy.  Roberta is now 13 weeks along and everything looks really good!

It may have been easier for us to give up.  I think about some other times in life when I could have given up;  college, internships, mountain climbing (more hiking rather than climbing, but it sounds cooler to say climbing), and I realize that it is never worth it to give up.  The reward of success is always worth the pain of pushing on.

I remember of a story of I was once told.  During World War II, Winston Churchill addressed some students in a school he attended as a child.  During this time, the Germans were heavily bombarding London, leaving destruction in their paths everywhere they went.  Churchill’s main message to the students can be summed up in this:

“Never give in, never give in, never; never; never; never – in nothing, great or small, large or petty – never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense”

I don’t know where you are in life, but don’t give up on anything.  Keep working on what God has given you a passion to do!

Leave a Reply

