High Seas Expedition VBS

First of all, my most sincere apologies to any readers out there who may have noticed that I have not hit some highlights from VBS yet. My life has been a bit of a whirlwind for the last few weeks. Thankfully, I see some signs of a bit of rest coming!

High Seas Expedition VBS was absolutely amazing! In my opinion, it seemed like it was the best organized event that I have been involved in at this level for quite some time. Thanks for that are entirely due to the two coordinators who made it all work: Rhonda Squires and Kristi Roberts. If your kids took part in High Seas Expedition, be sure to thank them for their hard work. They made it all possible.

As far as the details go, we had over 50 kids participate and at least 20 volunteers! This is such a great picture of God’s church coming together selflessly to advance the Kingdom of God. I was a bit discouraged that we had only 50 kids this year when we had 75 kids last year, but it was pointed out to me that there were four other High Seas Expedition VBS’s happening at the same time. Knowing that, I am thrilled to have had 50 kids! There is also something else that makes this number a bit more incredible. Last year, a vast majority of the kids were from our church and most of the others were from other churches. This year, we had a large number of kids that are unchurched attend!

One volunteer told me this story: “I brought a couple of kids that I watch after school to VBS. They are completely unchurched. At my house after VBS, they were all singing the songs. One of the kids said to me, ‘I love my church and I can’t wait to go back’. I asked what church was their church and she answered, ‘The VBS church'”.

So what did we teach the kids all week? Allow me to share the simple truths that the kids went home with each day:

God’s Word is True

God’s Word is Comforting

God’s word is Surprising

God’s Word is Life Changing

God’s Word is for Everyone

A big thank you to every single volunteer who helped to make this awesome event happen, especially Rhonda and Kristi. Without them, it would have been a big mess… Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

