The Glory of God

Exodus 33: 19-23 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”  And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.  But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”  Then the LORD said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock.  When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by.  Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

This is a really cool passage of scripture on so many levels.  There are so many great things to talk about, but I want to focus on the first sentence.  Moses approached God with boldness.  Though he did not have ther right to, he asked God something that he probably felt was out of bounds for him to ask.  He said, God, show yourself to me, I don’t want to just hear you and feel you, I want to see you.  I like to think that Moses was the first person to ever ask.  It seems that Moses was the first person that God even entertained the idea with. surprisingly, he got an answer that was more favorable than “no way!”

So, what is it that you need ask God for?  What is so big in your life that you think it might be out of bounds to ask of God?  I would urge you to go ahead and ask anyway… You never know what He might say.  I think Moses was surprised at God’s answer…

Leave a Reply

