Why I believe in Kids Camp

The highlight of my summer every year is Kids Camp.  I’ve written about some of my experiences as a camp counselor at Kids Camp, and I hope that my writings have encouraged you to at least think about either sending your kids to camp, or being a camp counselor of some kind. 

Kids camp is a great time to get the kids away from the TV, video games, and other “mind wasters” while they participate in active play, outdoor activities with other kids who love Jesus and hear great messages at their age level about God.  The absolute best thing about Kids Camp is that there is often no solid timetable for chapel times.  In 99% of churches across America, Kids Church is over when the adult service concludes.  Sometimes that means that in the middle of the lesson the kids pastor has to hastily finish and close in prayer.  Other times, it means that the Kids Pastor is stalling while the parents are still in church.  However at Kids Camp, the chapel service waits and concludes for no one except God and the team of people in charge (speaker, directors).  This means the kids get unhindered time at the altar to seek after God.

I’ve seen kids (and by kids, need I remind you that I am talking about ages 8-12ish) have amazing encounters with God at camp.  Every year kids are filled with the Holy Spirit.  On more than one occasion I’ve seen kids filled with the Holy Spirit and prophesying over the adults.  I’ve seen kids come to grips with things they struggle with and set them down (spiritual, physical and mental struggles), to never be picked up again.  I’ve seen kids healed of different physical ailments.  I’ve seen kids recieve the call into full time ministry.  I’ve seen kids engage in worship as intense as any adult would and really connect with God. 

Camp has been an important part of my life, both as a camper, and as a leader.  I am so grateful that I’ve had such experiences, and pray that each year, the kids also have awesome encounters with God.  Would you pray with me this week about the camp that I will be work at?  Please pray that 3 things with me: 1) God would move in the hearts of the kids 2) Safety in all the activities 3) the kids would have a great time, and remember it for the rest of their lives.

Rumor has it that there is no cell reception, or wi-fi, so I may not be able to tweet, update my blog, or even make phone calls… We’ll have to wait and see what happens.

One thought on “Why I believe in Kids Camp

  1. Hey Babe, great blog. I’m praying for you while you are at camp this week. Zorah, Baby Boy, & I miss you so much! I can’t wait to see all of the great things that happen this week.

Leave a Reply

