Second Chances

2 Corinthians 2:9, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

I thank God daily that He is a God of second chances.  Every single person in the world needs at least a second chance, most of us need more chances than we can count.  I know that I have screwed up (sinned) more times than I can ever even try to keep track of.  But God is always there, with his arms open awaiting for us to come asking Him for forgiveness.

I was reminded of this seeing an article in the Seattle Times.  I started following this guy on twitter, because he is a AAA baseball player, playing for the Tacoma Rainers (the Mariners’ AAA affiliate).  Mostly he tweets Bible verses, and occasionally updates on road trips, ball games, and other baseball stuff.  I love seeing professional athletes that are not afraid to share their faith publicly.  So, today, the Seattle Times posted a rather scathing article about the Mariners’ front office management in signing this particular player, because of his past. 

The article goes to great length to say that the Mariners should not have signed him, and this guy is a down low, dirty, horrible person who has done an atrocious thing.  First of all, I am so glad that God is a God of second chances and not of the same judgement that we read in the media.  Secondly, though the evidence appears to lean in the direction that it is possible that he did what he was accused of, we do not know the full story and only person who does is the accused. 

I don’t know the guy personally or much more than what he puts on twitter and now what I read about him in the Seattle Times, but it seems as though he has changed since this incident a couple of years ago.  He has paid his dues, apologised to the offended person, and done all that he can do to make it right.  Furthermore, it seems as though he has changed his ways and is serving God. 

God is not a respecter of persons.  He does not care if you are rapist, murderer, pastor or saint.  He loves you just as you are, and is willing to wipe the slate clean.  I sure need that, and suspect that you do too.

Thank you God that your mercies are new everyday.  Though I stumble and fall, you are there to pick me up.  Your forgiveness is bigger than I can imagine.  Thank you.  In Jesus name, Amen.

One thought on “Second Chances

  1. Pingback: instant credit card application

Leave a Reply

