Leaders and Followers

Colossians 3:17 “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him”

I’ve noticed something recently.  I would be really curious to do a study on it and see what is going on in people’s minds, maybe studies have already been done.  The other day, I went to take the garbage out (by the way, it is important to note that I live in an apartment).  As I approached the dumpsters, I thought that they must be full because several people left their garbage on the ground at the entrance to the dumpster area.  Upon closer inspection, I found that the front dumpster was indeed full and nearly overflowing.  The rear dumpster though still had lots of room in it.  Hold that thought in you mind for a minute.

Here is another thing that I have noticed: I drive a motorcycle to work.  One thing that I know about driving a motorcycle (or car for that matter) in Oregon is that when a car is at a stop sign or red light in the right lane, it is illegal to pull up next to them and turn right.  Each driver must wait their turn no matter how much room there is between the front car and the curb.  It is especially tempting to do so when the person in the front is on a motorcycle.  Many people ignore this law and pull next to me to turn right.  The interesting thing that I found is that there is often a hesitation to do so-at least for the first person.  Once one person does this, everyone behind them  feels empowered to follow, even though it is illegal.

The power of one person’s example is interesting to me.  One person can inspire several people to break the law, and one person can inspire others to be lazy and leave their garbage on the ground rather than placing it in the back dumpster. 

I say all this to make the point that people watch each other.  We are setting the example for one another.  What kind of example are you setting?  I love this verse that I put at the top of the page.  It reminds me that everything I do, must be done in excellence.  If Jesus was physically with me, I would certainly not have participated in leaving my garbage on the ground (which I did not), I probably would have picked up everyone else’s garbage and put in the rear dumpster, thus cleaning up the mess and not encouraging others to be lazy.  Instead, I thought about the implications of the first person who did this. 

My question for today is this: Since your actions are being watched by others, what would you differently to inspire them to do great things?

One thought on “Leaders and Followers

Leave a Reply

