God’s Word

About 2 years ago, I received a box of Bibles from a Christian Bookstore about to go out of business.  They are full length kids Bibles, with Bibleman on the cover.  If I had to pay for them it probably would be about $39.86 each.  Over the course of the 2 years since receiving them, I always keep it in the back of my mind.  If I hear someone say they don’t have a Bible, I’ll get one of these and give it to them (sorry girls, it is a boys Bible). 

A couple of weeks ago, I was in chapel talking to the fourth grade class.  They all brought their Bibles, and I complimented them on this.  Right in front of the fourth grade class is the Kindergarten class, where one boy sat and told me that he does not have a Bible at all.  Knowing that I had these Bibles, I quickly ran to my office, grabbed one, and brought it back for him.  That night I received an email from his mom.  “He loves his Bible, he tries reading it all the time, asks me to read it to him, and takes it everywhere.”  A couple of days later, his teacher stopped me in the hall, “He loves his Bible, he brings it to school everyday, and asks me to read from it.”

I share this with you as a challenge.  When was the last time you were this excited about God’s word?  Not the application on your phone, or the physical binding of the book, but God’s word.  This boy is excited about God’s word.  He is reading it, and asking people to read it to him.  He is not just excited about cover of the Bible, or having a Bible of his own, he is genuinely excited about God’s word.

I can only imagine what it must have been like the day one of Paul’s letters reached those it was originally written to.  Do you remember what it was like to be a kid excited to get a single piece of mail?  I imagine that was the excitement that the church in Corinth felt when Paul’s first letter arrived (they were probably less thrilled at the contents).  Can you imagine the excitement of receiving a letter from a friend you have not heard from in a long time?

God is a better friend, and He gives us a living, breathing (Hebrew 4:12) letter to read every day.  Christians in Asia are so desperate for the Bible they’ll rejoice over a single page of it, memorize it and share it with other Christians.  I have 4 Bibles, and an app on my phone yet, sometimes I go days without touching the Bible.

Jesus, give us passion for your word.  May we be as passionate about it as my friend who got his first Bible a couple of weeks ago.


One thought on “God’s Word

  1. I think the problem we have so often in western culture is that we have no true sense of mystery. Yes, the Bible was written with human hands and by human minds, but there is something other-worldly to it. It’s written by humans and yet at the same time it’s not written by humans at all. Eastern culture and Middle Eastern culture understand this sense of mystery, and when they are introduced to the Scriptures, it means something to them that it rarely means for those of us in the west. As Easterners become further influenced by the western world, I pray they will be more influenced by the gospel message we largely claim and less influenced by our instantaneous-microwave-give-me-now selfishness. Not saying we’re all selfish, but our culture most certainly is.

Leave a Reply

