Fresh Water and Figs

James 3:10-12 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?  My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

I caught myself the other day.  I was driving (an activity that I mega-loath and have fairly successfully avoided through my married life), and as I often do, praying.  By the way, driving time is also great prayer time.  You alone with God, doing a relatively mindless activity.  Try it sometime.  So I was out driving and praying, and I come to an intersection where I am going straight, and a bunch of cars turning left.  With the green light on my side, they are supposed to allow me the right way.  This intersection has some negative feelings for me because I wiped out in this intersection on my motorcycle for this exact same reason.  Anyhow this car does not stop, and if it were not for me stopping in the middle of the intersection in which I had the right-of-way, we would have collided. 

There are lots of idiots on the road, and I probably perpetuate the problem.  In any case, I have no problem name calling (especially in  my car, with the windows rolled up) when one someone drives in a manner other than I think they should.  As soon as I embarked on such a verbal spar (abruptly stopping my prayer), this verse came to my mind, particularly the phrase: “Can salt water and fresh water flow from the same spring?  Brothers how can this be?” 

Wow!  That is exactly what I was doing in that moment of time.  I was producing fresh water (prayer) and salt water (cursing my fellow man) from the same spring (my mouth).  Take some time to honestly think about the words that you use…

Are your words uplifting or discouraging?
Are they filled with love or hate?
Are your proud of your words?
Would you same the same thing to a person’s face that you say behind their back?
Would you same the same thing to a person that you write about them in your blog, on your facebook, email or text?

Wow!  I have some room to grow here.

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, o Lord God, my rock and my redeemer –Psalm 19:14

2 thoughts on “Fresh Water and Figs

  1. Brad, I’ve been guilty of that, too. And then there’s another problem: When I verbalize my gratitude to God, but I live my life being impatient with people, being judgmental of others. In other words, my words to God and my words and actions to others are incompatible. They’re inconsistent. And what I’m proving is that my words of thanks don’t mean anything. That’s harsh, isn’t it? Good thoughts!

Leave a Reply

