2 Masters

In case you have not noticed, a majority of my blogs are internal dialogue, that I allow anyone to read.  That is especially true of today’s writing.

Matthew 6:24 “No one can serve two masters.  Wither he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to one and despise the other.  You cannot serve both God and money.”

It is so easy to look at this verse and think, “I can’t serve God and money.  Easy stuff here.  I serve God, not money.” 

I think that Jesus just used money as an example here.  I hardly think that he was speaking specifically of just money.  When I read this with this thought in my mind, it hit me like a ton of bricks.  It can just as easily read, “You cannot serve God and yourself (or your favorite sports team, or technology, or anything you want to fill in the blank).”

So do you serve God or yourself?  Something else?  I can certainly be found guilty of serving myself and not God at times…

Leave a Reply

