Battle Plan?

The story of the walls of Jericho is a fun one.  If you are unfamiliar with the story, give it a quick read.  (Joshua 5:13-6:27).  When I read it, I imagine Joshua’s prayer may have something like this:

“God, we have a big battle coming up.  I would like you to explain the battle plan for me (listening to God’s answer).  You want me to do what?  This is going to win the battle?  Can you repeat that just to make sure I heard you right? (listening again) Ok, I think I heard the same thing twice, so we’ll do that.”

As he explained the battle plan to the tribal leaders, they probably had a similar reaction.  Joshua being a good leader communicated the instructions with confidence (that he may or may not have had).  The leaders then turned to the people to give them the instructions, and they reacted the same way Joshua did at first, and their leaders did. Eventually they were all convinced to follow God’s plan.

Throughout the Bible, we find many people who acted in faith, but I am convinced that this may have been one of the biggest acts of faith that we find in the Bible.  This was their instructions: walk around the city 1 time a day for 6 days, then on the 7th day, walk around the city 7 times.  Do it silently, the on the last time, blow the trumpets and other horns.   Then shout and God will give you the victory.  In the natural, this is a suicide mission.  How does that win battles?  How do you even do this without making your whole country look stupid?

But God showed up.

Sometimes God asks us to do something in faith.  The act maybe big or small.  It may require you to step out of your comfort zone, or do something that you are completely comfortable with.  The point of obedience is to be obedient.  Results are not in our hands, they are in God’s hands.  He is the one who causes the sun to come up and go down.  He chooses to reward or not, we are simply called to obey, even in what seems like madness.

In college, one of my professors shared this story: On a Sunday morning, the band had finished warming up and sound checking and all the other things people much more talented than me do, when a member of the team approached him.  “Pastor,” he said, “I know this sounds crazy, but I feel like God wants me to do a cart-wheel on stage before church starts.  I wont make a big spectacle of it, but I really feel like this is of God.”  After some discussion, he decided to let it be.  The worship team member did what he felt God wanted him to do, a cart-wheel on stage before church started.  The service went as usual, nothing really out of the ordinary to report.  After church was over, a first time visitor approached the pastor.  “Pastor, I have to tell you something,” she said, “My friend dragged me to church today.  I did want to be here, and was prepared to sleep through the whole thing, or otherwise tune out.  I told God that if he wanted my attention, I would have to see someone do a cart-wheel on the stage.  I gave my life Christ today.”

God speaks, madness ensues, He shows up, lives are changed.

Has God ever asked you to take what seems like a crazy step of faith?

Leave a Reply

