Don’t Give Up!!!

“Let us not become weary in doing, for at the proper time you will reap a harvest if you do not give up.” Galatians 6:9

Have you ever felt like giving up?  Even if you feel like you are on the brink of a breakthrough?  I sure have.  In fact, I’ve given up on a lot of things.  I have a long history of giving up, in fact the only thing I have not given up on is giving up.  I joke.  The first time I remember giving up, I was probably like 7 or 8 years old (though I’m sure I had given up on many things before this experience.  My dad is an interesting man, if you don’t know him.  He has a gift for music.  Note the word choice, he is not a gifted musician, but has a gift for music.  He can pick any instrument and crank out a tune on it with in 30 seconds of handling it.  His favorite instrument to play though is the trumpet.  One day, I thought that I would like to play the trumpet, so I started asking my dad all kinds of questions about it, and he agreed to give me a couple of lessons.  I did one and gave up.

I can’t help but to think about all the things that I have given up and wonder, “How close to was I to success when I gave up?”  Sometimes, the answer is probably not what I hope it is.  How many times have I almost given up, only to find success minutes later?  Paul writes this great verse in Galatians chapter 6 to remind us how important it is to keep moving forward.

So, what is your situation?  What is it that you are about to give up on?  Heed Paul’s words, don’t give up.  Who knows how close you are to success?

By the way, as for learning to play the trumpet, I found out a couple of years later that I don’t have any musical talent whatsoever.  I can’t keep a beat, hold a note or explain the difference between the bass clef and trouble clef.  Yes, I know it’s the treble clef, it was a joke.  Trumpet playing was truly a lost cause.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up!!!

  1. Another fantastic post, my friend. Keep ’em coming. Oh, how
    I have given up on myself and others in so many situations. It’s
    easy to beat yourself up, but persistence is key. And accompanied
    by a strong belief that you will get what you’re after, persistence
    will win you what you want. This is layered REPEATEDLY throughout
    the Bible. I particularly love James’ admonition that “perseverance
    MUST finish its course.” Why do you think this is? It doesn’t
    affect God. How does it affect us?

    • Thanks Bryan. Its all about character building. I was also thinking about it in this context: we are in the people business (meaning ministry, and I am of the belief that all Christ followers are in full time ministry. Some are in ministry and real estate, public service, engineering, etc) should we give up on people? How close might someone be to receiving Christ if we were to give up them? Its not just a world of difference, but an eternity of difference.

Leave a Reply

