What day is it?

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

“If you had one day left to live, what would you do?”

It’s a classic question.  I’ve pondered it many times, and it is interesting for me to note the change in my responses over the years.  Many have answered it through movies, stories and anecdotes.  One of my favorites includes a man who being diagnosed with terminal cancer with less than a month to live, went on a credit card shopping spree, only to later receive a voicemail from his doctor explaining a lab mix up, and his perfect health.

While it is a fun question to ask and ponder, there is a great amount of truth in it.  No matter you health or physical condition: You have only one day to live, today.  Yesterday is gone; in all its glory and splendor or shame and disgrace, it is gone.  Done.  Finished.  Tomorrow has yet to come, with all its opportunities, challenges and problems.  Today is all you have.

So take today, and each today that you do have, and make the most of it.  Spend quality time with your family and friends.  Decide on your priorities and follow them.  Do what is fun and enjoyable to you.  Embrace what God has for you and live it out.

Jesus words are a reminder to us to live in this moment.  In fact, scripture is full of reminders not worry about the future.  Matthew 10:9 “But when they arrest you (for being a Christ follower)*, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say…” Matthew 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?”

How is it possible to live in the moment, to not worry about the future? Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.”  Has He taken care of you in the past?  Has He walked you through hard times before?  Than He will again, because He never changes.

Just for fun: if you found out that you had one literal day left to live, how would you spend that day?

Carpe Diem (seize the day).

*My addition as an explanation, not scripture

4 thoughts on “What day is it?

  1. With one day left to live, I think I would spend as much time as I can with my wife and children. I would call all of my family members and tell them I love them. I would not argue, worry, nor resent anything. I would try to live at the moment and relax with my loved ones. Now, if I had more than a day, such as a month or so, I would do the same as mentioned above, plus go out and feed the homeless, visit prisoners, volunteer in shelters, and give toys to orphan children. I would live every moment as Jesus taught us to live. Oh, but wait! I can do all of that now and don’t have to wait until it is almost time to die. This is how we should live, living the Kingdom of Heaven. Thanks for the opportunity to comment. God bless.

  2. I would spend it with my husband and children, telling them how much I love them, praying for them, enjoying them for the last time on this earth, and reminding them that I would see them when they get home.

Leave a Reply

