Identity Theft

“The thief comes to steal kill and destroy; I have come that they might have life and have it to the full” John 10:10

Every day for the past couple of months, I’ve heard on the radio an ad for Lifelock identity theft solutions.  There is no doubt that identity theft is a HUGE problem in America today.  It creates 100’s of hours of work for the victims, if not taken care of properly it could cost financially as well.  Not to mention the credit problem.  I personally have not had first hand experience with identity theft, but know several people who have.

A friend of mine once had their identity stolen when it was first starting to happen and people were not as aware of the problem.  She kept saying, “I lost my identity.  I don’t know who I am.”  She was just being dramatic, but it got me thinking.

Knowing who we are as Christ followers and children of God is so important.  Consider this: when satan was tempting Jesus, 2 of the 3 temptations began “If you are Son of God…”  God in his wisdom and foresight affirmed Jesus’ identity right before the temptations.  When Jesus came up out of the water, God spoke in an audible voice to all who where there saying, “This is my son, whom I love and in Him I am well pleased.”  God affirmed Jesus, knowing that His identity was going to be attacked.

So, as children of God, what is our identity that satan so often tries to attack?

You child of God (2 Corinthians 6:18).  That is a powerful one to get your mind around.  I became a father for the first time in January.  I am learning that there are so many great parallels to our relationship with God and the father/child relationship.  For one, my son is 100% completely dependent on his mother and I.  Everything he needs must be provided for by us.  Though, I am limited in what I can provide.  What God can provide is limitless.  His provision is so much greater than mine, in fact it not only pales in comparison, but is rather pathetic.  God owns the cattle on a thousand hill, and He is not above selling a cattle or two to provide for His child.  In fact, He owns the hills too, and the valley and…

You are forgiven (1 John 1:9).  One of the great tricks of the enemy is to play this game where he tries to convince you for one reason or another, that you are not really forgiven.  Maybe because you keep repeating the same sin pattern, or because the sin was so “atrocious”  or another reason all together.  God hit me over the head with this thought a couple of years ago, and I’ve never been able to shake it.  God’s love is so profound for not only mankind, but for me as an individual.  If I was the only person ever, in all of mankind in all time to ever accept forgiveness of my sins through Jesus’ death on the cross, He still would have done it.  You are forgiven of your past sin, present sin and any sin you will ever commit through the blood of Jesus, as long as you ask God for forgiveness and repent.

You are more than a conqueror (Romans 8:37).  No matter what it is that satan brings against you, you are stronger than it.  He has no scheme that can stand against you, because when his plans begin to take motion, God sends in His Spirit like a flood to take the enemy out.  God has gifted you to stand against the enemy, and when you have done all else you can do to stand, He comes in and takes care of the rest.  You are not just a conqueror, you are more than a conqueror.

You are created in His image (Genesis 1:26), and you were planned and created to be who you are since before the creation of the world (Jeremiah 1).  You are not an accident.  You were created with purpose.  I believe that God has a plan for your life, what that plan includes is beyond me, except to say that you are created to love and worship God, and to serve Him and make Him known.  No matter what circumstances surround your birth, you were created and destined to be here at this time in this place.

The list goes on.  Perhaps another day I’ll continue this subject.  However, there is one more that I would be remiss to not mention today.  Despite the truth of these reminders you are but a mere man (or woman) created by God, and subject to Him.  Keep the first ones in mind when the enemy is trying to steal your identity, otherwise remember this last one, less one becomes full of themselves.

Leave a Reply

