The Great Compromise

The Israelites made a grave mistake.

What was this mistake?

Judges chapter 1.  They were under an order from God.  The order in short was, “I’ll give you the land, but you must drive the people out.”

God wanted for the Israelites to drive the Caananites out for a multitude of reasons. The chief reason was He did not want their pagan practices to infiltrate His people.  God knew the Israelites would be susceptible to idolatry and all kinds of evil if they were allowed around it.

His solution was simple: drive out the evil.

They never did.  Judges chapter 1 lays out their mistake clear as day: All of the Israelite tribes did not drive out the Canaanites, even though they were commanded to do so. This tribe made allowed these people to stay, but forced them into labor.  As a result, the Israelites were in a constant roller coaster relationship with God.  They followed Him, then they worshiped idols.  A prophet would come and predict doom and gloom, so they worshiped God.  To this day, Israel is still plagued by idolatry and false gods all around them.

I wonder how many times we make the same mistake.  I know I have on more occasions than I can count.  I hear God’s clear directive in  my life: “Remove this area of your life completely. It is unnecessary and hindering you.”

I try to reason with God, and make a compromise.  By the way, compromising with God is like arguing with God; even if you win, you loose.  Despite a word from God, we decide to make a compromise and allow things to stay in our lives knowing that it is against God’s will.

When we choose to ignore God’s direction in our lives, it is a form of idolatry.  We allow something far inferior to come between us and God.  We make something else more important than God.

Today, I choose God.  I hope every day, I choose God.  One day at a time, on hour at a time, I choose God.

“God, today I choose you.  Help me to put aside the things of this world that do me no good.  Help me to make you first in my life.  In Jesus name, Amen.”

Let’s be honest…in what areas in your life can you make God a priority?

One thought on “The Great Compromise

Leave a Reply

