Ever feel like giving up?

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time, we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9


I have a deal with my dog… yes, I’m a little crazy.

The deal with my dog is simple: I brush her out, and we are all done, she gets a treat.  However, I have to be finished, and she can’t quit.

She hates getting brushed out.  She fights it with everything she has inside of her.  She snaps at me and tries to get her mouth to where I am brushing (she’s never bitten anyone).  She whimpers and whines, and tries to get away when I let my guard down for more than 2 seconds.  If she quits, she doesn’t get a treat.

Many times, I am SO close to being done with her, and she gives up and runs away. She loses the reward. Sometimes I’ll give her a couple minutes break. Then I pick her up, finish the job, and then she gets a treat.  Sometimes, I just let her go, and she doesn’t get her treat.

Many times…I wonder about that in my life. Not on gaining a treat, but on giving up.

When I have given up on something, how close was I to completing that which was set out for me?  In between our 3rd miscarriage and the beginning of our pregnancy with Zane, I felt like giving up.  Roberta and I had the conversation at least once.

  • Is it EVER going to happen?
  • Should we give up trying to have a baby, and instead adopt or take in foster kids?
  • Could we handle another heartbreak if foster care didn’t work out, or if we lost another baby?

Another time we almost gave up was in our ministry career.  We were hurt, broken, tired, confused, and ready to give up.  We had an exit plan, and back-up plans for back-up plans.  My parents were ready for us to move into their basement while we “re-established” ourselves.  I thank God for people who rallied around us and encouraged us to not give up…because God’s reward was right around the corner. Little did we know, we just needed to hang on for a few more months. We would have missed out on one of the biggest blessings of our lives.

If you are in the midst of a situation that you want to give up on, hang in there.  God isn’t done with you yet.  Just like how my dog will never know how many treats she missed out on because she quit too early, you may never know how close you came to victory if quit too soon.

Is there anything you regret giving up on?

3 thoughts on “Ever feel like giving up?

  1. Hey Brad, sorry I’ve been such a bad blog friend lately. My new schedule at the church has had me hitting the ground running. Seriously, I’ve been terrible about it. But, I appreciate the dog-venting. Our dog Angel ran away in October and we never found her. But we got a new dog – a full-blooded Yorkie. She is the best dog! So sweet and just good-natured. Not nearly as high-maintenance either.

    But I would have given up, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

